I Predict More Rain in My Future

Well, it’s official – in September I’m moving to the UK.

Yeah, it’s kind of a big deal.

I’m really starting to get super excited about it. Living in the UK has always been something I kind of meant to do, but never really got around to. It was my original plan for my year abroad which I did about 100 years ago, but ended up in Australia instead.

Well, this year’s the year! And it’s a good thing really because it’s also the last year I can easily go (gotta get that working holiday visa before you’re 31). Though, I must admit, that the fact that my eligibility is about to expire isn’t my main motivation for heading to the land of fish and chips.

Nope.

.

.

.

I met a guy…

Actually, I met the guy a while ago but he’s been having his own awesome Canadian adventure over here so the need for me to move to the UK has only really become a recent necessity.

And boy is it ever rushing up fast! Shit is really starting to get real! I’ve put in my notice at work and I’ve given up my apartment, my flight’s booked and my visa’s been approved! And most importantly, today I packed my guy up into a plane, kissed him good bye and started our 6 week stint of long distance.

So,the time has come for me to pack up my bags and head off on one hell of an adventure on my quest for “Twue Wuv” (if you don’t get the Princess Bride reference then I’m not really sure I have anything more to offer you here).

I know what you’re thinking: “it’s kind of a big step, Nyssa.”

Well, true. It certainly is. But to me, it’s really not that big of a deal. I love adventuring. I love him. And I was already planning to go abroad in 2017/18 so why not have it all? I mean really, what is the point of cake if you can’t eat it.

If I’m being perfectly honest with you I kind of have a habit for packing up and running off. So much so, that when I told my near and dear that I was, yet again, moving away nobody was particularily surprised. My favourite was an exchange with my brother:

Me: “Oh, I’m moving to the UK” (I call after him, as he’s leaving the room)
Adric: “Wait, what?”
Me: “Yep”
Adric: “What about your job?”
Me: I’ll quit!
Adric: shaking his head “You’re terrible at being a grown up”
Me: “But I’m great at adventuring!”
Adric: said with a chuckle “Yes, yes you are”

What stresses me out the most about the whole plan is narrowing down what to take with me! As I look around my room the task of choosing the winning items is a bit daunting. I’m really not sure when I accumulated so much stuff! I’ve always liked to think of myself as somewhat of a minimalist, but one glance at my shoe rack tells me that might not be the case.  For the purposes of this adventure, I don’t need to pack light. I’m actually moving, not travelling, so perhaps, for the first time in my entire life I’ll allow myself to bring my backpack and a suitcase – but even so, it’s going to be quite the task.

Obviously, the decision to leave Toronto – the city that I adore- was a tough one. I really do love this place, not to mention all the amazing people it houses – and I’m really going to miss it. In a perfect world, some people will hop across the pond for a visit. But for those who wont – this isn’t goodbye forever. I’ll be back soon enough.

Oh, for those who don’t know – his name is Dave and he’s wonderful.

20170722_150122.jpg

Published by

The Wandering Nyssa

I'm a traveler by passion and also by trade and I'm loving life. On my adventures I’m always on the hunt for the best local cuisines and the most thrilling outdoor activities that I can find!

Leave a Comment

