Canada 150

It’s Canada’s Birthday today and boy is it a big one – 150 years since the confederation that gave birth to my beautiful home. Obviously, the land itself and our first nations people have been here for a lot longer (thousands of years longer) and not everyone is choosing to celebrate today, which I can completely understand. Canada is not a perfect place. There is a lot we need to improve upon and a great deal more restitution owed.

Despite this, I am still proud to be Canadian and I love my country and I am excited to celebrate its milestone!flag

So, in honour of the day, here are a few things I feel make me Canadian: 

  1. My consistent use of the word “Eh” in every day conversation
  2. My ability to start a perfect campfire with only 1 match (thanks Dad)
  3. How I can recognize drift wood cut by a beaver a mile away
  4. My deep love for maple syrup (and not just on pancakes – throw some of that on ice cream!)
  5. My general passion for the great out doors
  6. My innate knowledge of what to do if I encounter a bear
  7. My first hand knowledge of just how big and scary moose are
  8. The fact that I’m a grown up and I still own snowpants. -35C I’m ready for you.
  9. My appreciation for very long distance drives.
  10. And of course, if you bump into me, cut me off, or do something generally rude or inconsiderate towards me I will likely apologize to you.

And here are some of my all time “Meanwhile In Canada” moments:

20161126_155732
A True Canadian

Happy Birthday Canada!! 

 

Published by

The Wandering Nyssa

I'm a traveler by passion and also by trade and I'm loving life. On my adventures I’m always on the hunt for the best local cuisines and the most thrilling outdoor activities that I can find!

2 thoughts on “Canada 150”

  1. HAHA, thanks for sharing the list. I love reading about the differences between countries, and the difference between Canada and America are always interesting. Great photos too!

    Like

Leave a Comment

